Week 32: Our Communications and Visitation Plan

A little over a month ago, Hubby and I sat down and discussed how we wanted to handle announcing Wee One’s birth and any potential hospital visitors. We waited until we had an official birth date to share the plan with our parents.

Although I am completely comfortable with our guidelines, I’d like to give you an idea of how this plan came about.

Five years ago, a friend had her first child by c-section. After she returned from maternity leave, we were discussing everything that happened the day her daughter was born. At one point she said, “I came back from recovery and my mom was already holding Sally**.” While she didn’t elaborate on how that made her feel, all I can remember thinking was, “Oh hell no!”

It’s not that I don’t love my parents or in-laws, but there is no way they will be holding a baby I carried for eight-ish months – and went through various emotional and physical trials to finally conceive – before I do. Call me selfish (it’s okay, I’ll embrace it), but it’s just not happening.

Additionally, I have no idea how I’ll react to the spinal and other medications. I have no idea if he’ll need time in NICU. I’d prefer not to have an audience while we’re both learning to breastfeed. I’d also like to be as mobile as possible before visitors arrive. Finally, and most importantly, I’d like us to have some time as a our new family.

My parents are supportive. I can’t quite gauge Hubby’s parents. But, in the end, this is what we’ve decided to do:

We’re respectfully asking …

That no one “camp out” at the hospital on the day of Baby’s birth.

  • We will keep people updated via texts or phone calls.
  • We will call when we’re ready for visitors.
    • For Hubby’s parents, who live about two hours away, we plan to give them a key to our house so they won’t be so far away when we’re ready

Visitation Guidelines

  • Day One: Visitors limited to grandparents
    • The only exception is Hubby’s son, if his schedule permits
  • Day Two: Visitors limited to immediate family and significant others
  • Day Three: All of the above. The rest we’ll play by ear, depending on when we’ll get to go home

We’ll also likely ask our photographer to come at some point to take pictures. 🙂

Announcing his birth

I think this is all pretty standard these days, but it never hurts to spell it out:

  • Hubby will call parents who will then be in charge of notifying siblings, extended family and any friends of theirs.
  • I set up a group of contacts for close friends (including our parents and siblings) that Hubby can use to send an announcement. I suspect he’ll be a bit flustered, so I’m trying to simplify the process for him. 🙂
  • We’ll post something to social media as soon as we can. Until then, mums the word online.

So there you have it! That’s about as close to a birth plan was we’ll have, I think. 😛

2 thoughts on “Week 32: Our Communications and Visitation Plan

  1. Christine says:

    I couldn’t agree more with everything you’ve laid out! Very reasonable and I applaud you for standing up for your rights as a new family!

Leave a Reply

