Week 29: Still no eviction notice

I’m just going to let you know up front – I’m feeling frustrated after my doctor’s appointment today. No doubt it will be reflected in the words I write below, but I’m hoping by the end of this post I will have worked through my emotions and be able to move on. I fully recognize that I’m likely being dramatic, but I’m a Pisces. It’s what we do. 😛

Let’s start with a Wee One update. I had my 29-week appointment today and all is well. His heartbeat is holding steady in the 140s. Yay! My blood pressure was fine and I’ve gained less than one pound over the last six weeks. Double yay! I’ll go back in two weeks, but my appointment is on a Friday since I’ll be out of town for work earlier in the week. Beginning at Week 32 I have to go for a non-stress test twice a week (Tuesdays and Fridays). Essentially, it’s a test that measures the baby’s heart rate at rest and while moving. Even inside the womb, a baby’s heart rate should increase when he/she moves. If it doesn’t, it could be an indication that the placenta isn’t working properly or that the baby isn’t getting enough oxygen. It’s primarily used in high risk pregnancies. Assuming all goes well with the tests, Wee One will be born sometime during my 36th Week (Sept. 16-23).

Which brings me to my frustrations.

At my last appointment, I was told by the nurse practitioner that my C-Section would likely be scheduled for 36 or 37 weeks and that I could discuss it (and set a date) with Dr. GL when I saw him in two weeks. Like several of my readers, I was left wondering “Why so early?”

I did some research on my own and found the likely reason … Not only did having those pesky fibroids removed last July necessitate a c-section, but it also puts me at risk for pre-term labor.

I went into today’s appointment armed with questions:

  • When can we schedule the c-section?
  • Is it possible to push the date closer to the 40-week mark?
  • Looking at my gynecological history pre-pregnancy along with how the pregnancy has progressed, how likely is it that I’ll have to worry about pre-term labor?
  • What are the risks if I should go into labor early?

Unfortunately, I didn’t get the opportunity to ask them.

Why? Because I didn’t get to see Dr. GL except for a brief moment at the end of my appointment.

And, I have to be honest, folks, as much as I love the nurse practitioner (seriously!), I’m getting damn frustrated about not seeing my OB – especially this late in my pregnancy.

I certainly let it show when Dr. GL popped in to say hello today.

We exchanged hellos and how are yous; he asked how far along I was, and even said “I don’t think I’ve seen you since 14 weeks…”

Which, of course, isn’t true and both Donna and I corrected him.

Then, I just blurted it out.

“When can we schedule the baby’s delivery?”

He and Donna exchanged looks and she quickly reminded him I would need a c-section because of the myomectomy (fibroid removal).

He replied that it would likely be 36 weeks and I immediately asked if we could push that a bit.

I wish I could have captured the looks on their faces. Donna’s eyes were as wide as saucers. Apparently neither of them expected me to put them on the spot.

“Which way,” he said?

Toward 40 weeks, of course.

The answer was a resounding “No.” Again, blame the rather large fibroids and the uterine muscles they took with them.

Okay. I understand; however, I HAD to ask. I wouldn’t be doing right by Wee One if I didn’t at least attempt to extend his time in the womb.

It’s why I was hoping to have a discussion with Dr. GL. Talk about the risks. I never intended for it to happen this way, but I felt backed into a corner. My next opportunity to see him won’t be until Aug. 19. Even then, since the track record shows otherwise, I wasn’t overly confident I’d have the chance.

I’m not frustrated because Wee One will “technically” be born a preemie (even though it raises an entirely new set of concerns). If it’s what has to be done to keep us both safe, I’m okay with that. What bothers me is that the nurse practitioner isn’t my doctor. While, yes, she can provide information and wonderful prenatal care, she won’t be the one performing my c-section. She can’t schedule the surgery. She can’t fill out my FMLA form for work. She can’t answer questions about post-operative procedures.

Only Dr. GL can do that.

And I feel like the time to address these questions has arrived (or is at least very near); however, I can’t do that if I never actually get to see him for my appointments.

Perhaps I’m asking too much? I don’t know. But, honestly, I need to find a way to make it water under the bridge. How does that saying go?

“You can’t control how other people behave – only have you react.”

Yeah. That’s perfect for this situation. I’m just going to put that on repeat.

One thought on “Week 29: Still no eviction notice

  1. Ok that has got to be REALLY frustrating! I can’t believe your OB isn’t spending a little more time with you ESPECIALLY if you’re considered high risk! That’s crazy!

Leave a Reply

