Week 23: He weighs how much?

It’s Tuesday, almost exactly one month from my last regular OB appointment.

You know what that means!

Wee One got his picture taken today.

He was STILL not cooperative – and we couldn’t really see much – but we did get to bring home one decent profile picture.

As the ultrasound tech squirted the warm goop on my belly, I told her I couldn’t wait to see how much he weighed since he was 12 ounces last month.

Those words would almost come back to haunt me. 😛

Toward the end she pulled up this screen with a bunch of numbers on it.

“He weighs about one pound, nine ounces,” she said.

I started to tell my husband, “See, I told you he’d be over a pound…” when the tech chimed back in.

“That puts you about a week and a half ahead. So he’s definitely a big one. But his arms and legs are long…”

**Side note – Last month he was one week, one day ahead which was considered normal.**

While I didn’t outwardly show it, her words put a damper on things.

Instead of oohing and ahhing over the ultrasound pictures, I could only think about one thing – gestational diabetes.

I also knew it would be the first thing Donna (the nurse practitioner) brought up when I saw her.

*sigh*

When we were called back for the actual appointment, I was pleasantly surprised that my blood pressure was, again, only slightly elevated – especially since I forgot to take my medication this morning. My weight, however, was another story.

Five pounds in two weeks.

WTH, Lindsay?

This unusual weight gain in a short period of time has happened twice – once at the end of the first trimester and now at 23 weeks. The periods preceding and in between showed minimal weight gain (0 – .5 lbs each week).

No one has ever mentioned it, but we all know I’m particularly hyper-aware of the numbers on the scale. 😛

Could that be part of the reason Wee One doubled his weight? Or could his weight gain factor into mine? I don’t know. I need to make a note to ask the doctor next time.

After waiting just a few moments, there was a knock on the exam room door. I knew immediately it wasn’t Donna. Instead it was Dr. Whirlwind. After he asked me how “George” was doing, he immediately said, “Do you have a family history of diabetes?”

Nope. Sure don’t.

He went on to explain that while Wee One’s weight was a bit high (69th percentile), it was really the abdominal measurement that was concerning (96th percentile).

He, unfortunately, didn’t elaborate because no sooner did those words leave his mouth and he was off to my blood pressure.

“This is as high as I’d like to see it,” he said. “What dose of blood pressure medicine do you take?’

Here we go again. Dude, you have no idea. This reading is MUCH better than other visits AND I forgot to take my medicine. I’m thankful it’s not through the roof.

I explained these things to him and even showed him the logs I’ve been keeping at home which, after some studying, seemed to appease him.

I asked if there was anything I needed to be doing and the response was, “Growing junior.” Then it was a few more random jokes (even one about twins … ugh!) and we were out the door with some sort of instructions for my glucose test next month. Oh, and another ultrasound appointment to check his abdomen again.

I do have to rant a bit …

This appointment is the perfect example of why I was initially worried about being seen in a clinic. Two weeks ago when I saw Dr. GL, I was “cruising along.” Now … now I don’t know what to think. While very nice, this guy talked so effing fast it made my head spin. He was more concerned about throwing jokes and cute phrases into his dialogue than anything else. I’m not even sure he read my chart. Also, he didn’t even come into the room; he stood by the door and gave his spiel.

It was a major, major turn off. Where was my beloved Donna? LOL!

Additionally, I need to call and see if I can get next month’s appointment moved to the afternoon. It’s scheduled for the morning which almost guarantees I won’t see Dr. GL (unless his schedule has changed). Can I refuse to play the doctor roulette wheel? Probably not, but I sure am going to try.

To end this thing on a positive note – Wee One is moving like crazy! During the ultrasound he was kicking his legs, moving his hands and, at one point, even playing with his toes. Awww! When he wasn’t doing those things he was hiding his face with his hands. Haha! Love him! ❤

Leave a Reply

