Week (almost) 21: Amazon FTW!

I’ve never been someone who “subscribes” to things because, for me, it ends up being a waste of money.

I’ll give you two great examples:

Back in January, I took advantage of a great deal on Adobe Cloud. For $9.99 per month I have unlimited access to Photoshop CS6 and Lightroom 5. Guess how many times I’ve used either of those programs? Zero. I already have older versions of both programs installed on my computer that work just fine.

Along those same lines, when I was SUPER stoked to be doing photography as a side job (until pregnancy hormones and life got in the way), I subscribed to an awesome site with marketing templates for photographers. For $20 per month I can download everything (new or existing) available. It was cool for the first two months.

So, as a general rule, I avoid “deals” like these.

With that said, you can imagine my skepticism when a mommy acquaintance strongly suggested signing up for Amazon Mom.

From the website:

Amazon Mom is a Prime membership program aimed at helping parents and caregivers in the prenatal through toddler years use Amazon to find and save on products that families need.

Vague enough? To provide more details, members of Amazon Mom will automatically save 20% on diapers and wipes. They will also save 5% on up to four additional items, and 20% on five or more when added to a shipment. Oh, and free two-day shipping.

But, but, but … it’s $99 per year. Will the savings on diapers and wipes make up for that?

For us, the answer is YES.

While we were TTC, Randy and I discussed cloth diapers at length. In the end, I think we were both overwhelmed and left wondering how we would manage to keep up with them. Not to mention most day cares won’t work with them.

The next best thing for us (at least on paper) is Huggies Pure and Natural line.

(We’re well aware this may change once we’re actually using them)

Locally, the line is only available at Target. A store that isn’t open 24 hours and is 25 minutes from my house.

I’m thinking ahead here, people, to try and preserve what sanity we’ll have once Baby Boy is here. 😛

Enter Amazon Mom.

As a member, I can get 174 (Size 1) diapers for $34.39 and 624 wipes for $12.79. Since moms are supposed to be all about price per unit, that’s $.197 per diaper and $.020 per wipe.

Let’s compare that with Target. Assuming these items are in stock:

Two packs of 88 (Size 1) diapers cost $49.98. One case of 624 wipes costs $15.99. That’s $.284 per diaper and $.026 per wipe.

Whew! That’s a lot of math for this writer’s brain.

I wanted to add up the cost per year at each place, but it would be a flawed equation since babies don’t wear Size 1 diapers forever – and prices, as well as quantities, vary per size.

Let’s assume for a minute that we’ll ONLY need the quantities I listed above (Ha Ha Ha!) for one month.

At Target, I’d spend $65.97.

At Amazon, including $8.25 (which is 1/12 of the $99 subscription fee), I’d spend $55.43.

Hello savings!

The only drawback is the potential of having packages shipped Sure (Smart) Post. With a teeny tiny community post office that has limited hours of operation, I will have to be extremely mindful when setting my delivery dates.

Other than that, it seems like this is a WIN! And easier on my brain and schedule than couponing. (<— Did I really just use that word? Ugh!)

4 thoughts on “Week (almost) 21: Amazon FTW!

  1. Stacey Newcome says:

    I am a member of several autoships and amazon prime. You will love it. I get Camerons K-cups, pet food, toilet paper, etc. The price per unit is sometimes half the price in stores. And free 2 day shipping pays for itself in no time. Totally great decision!

  2. I don’t know if you’ve had a shower yet or will be having one but I registered on Amazon (as many items were much cheaper on Amazon than at Buy Buy Baby or Babies R Us) and if you join Amazon mom you receive a 15% completion discount off of any remaining items that are carried by Amazon. It saved us $60 off the last minute things I ordered this week that we had not received at showers. I thought this was definitely a bonus to Amazon mom! Even if you don’t have a shower you can register for items that you know you want and then will get that 15% off- you just can’t use it until 30 days prior to due date.

    • Lindsay says:

      Hi Kelly!! Thanks so much for stopping by. 🙂 The 15% completion discount is just another perk of Amazon Mom. I had started a registry there, but after seeing the discount I moved a lot of the more expensive items (stroller, car seat, etc.) to Amazon. Not only are they cheaper there, but if we don’t receive them as gifts we can save extra money with the completion discount. Woohoo!!!

Leave a Reply

