Dun, dun, dun …

I won’t keep you in suspense.

It’s a BOY! 😀 ❤

As soon as the technician pressed on my stomach with the wand she said, “Baby is moving around a lot!”

Phew! We all know I was worried about that. Fears alleviated!

By about the third or fourth comment about his crazy movements I cracked a joke about eating mandarin oranges before I came. They weren’t even the peel and eat fruit. I’m talking the Dole cups with juice. Hee!

Although his movements comforted me, even though I can’t feel them, I could tell the tech was getting frustrated. Which, of course, I completely understand. She has a job to do and the stubborn (or shy) one was making it difficult.

She was able to tell us that he’s sitting behind my belly button (no surprise there) and his head is on my left side while his body curves down and his feet are on my right side. She actually said it’s probably a good thing I can’t feel him kicking yet. Haha!

Out of the blue she pointed to this long, thin mark on the screen.

“Do you see that,” she said.

“Yeah…,” I said, truly thinking she was going to tell us it was the umbilical cord.

“It’s a boy!”

Awww … yay! Thanks for cooperating, little man.

We had just enough time between the ultrasound and doctor’s appointment to call family, text friends and, of course, post to Facebook. 😛

I’m sure there is a reason for it, but on days when I have both an ultrasound and doctor’s appointment they’ve been scheduled an hour apart. Because the ultrasounds never last long, I’m always early for my doctor’s appointment. Yesterday, Dr. GL was in a meeting and I got to see the nurse practitioner from last time. She offered to let me wait, but I really do like her so I let her go over everything with us.

Here are the highlights:

  • Baby currently weighs 12 ounces which is right on target
  • All of his measurements are in alignment
    • Limbs that aren’t roughly the same length, for example, could be an indication of a genetic disorder
  • He currently measures 20 weeks and 1 day which is also within normal parameters
    • At one of our very first ultrasounds he measured five days ahead, so I’m not surprised. I don’t remember what she said was considered “normal.” Sorry! If any other mommies know, feel free to post in the comments!
  • Some ultrasound visuals were “limited,” but we were assured that’s normal at this stage.

Basically, all is well with Wee One! 😀

Mama, on the other hand, is dealing with swollen feet and ankles. They don’t bother me, but the nurse noticed them immediately. I’ve been told to keep my feet up, watch my sodium intake and lay on my left side as much as possible.

The top number of my blood pressure was also elevated yesterday. Ugh! And, unfortunately, it didn’t drop as much as usual when they retook it.

Dr. GL did stop in to say hello after his meeting and he said, “It’s acceptable. Not ideal, but acceptable.”

Blah!!

I’ll go ahead and admit it: I’ve been eating like shit. Consuming more sodium than I should. And, to add icing to the cake, I haven’t exercised since the middle of March. The move, the extra drive time, the first trimester sleepiness, etc. got my schedule all out of whack and I just didn’t make time for exercise. Simple as that.

That must change.

Even if I take a 30-minute walk around the neighborhood in the evenings, I have to do something.

Now that we know it’s a boy, I feel this is an appropriate time to re-post this (from my pregnancy announcement entry):

What about names?

It’s a little too early to REALLY be discussing names, but I’ve started a list. No, we will not be sharing the chosen name until after the baby is born. Period. End of story.

While our (aka my) initial reasoning was that I didn’t want to deal with the opinions of others (and you know they have them), let’s get real for a minute …

Knowing how my husband likes to analyze every.little.detail, we will probably still be without a name as I’m being wheeled in for the c-section.

In fact, he actually got annoyed with me yesterday when I started suggesting some.

For me, I have an instant reaction when I see or hear a name.

Randy just doesn’t get that. He has to think about it. Look up its meaning. Say it to himself over and over. And, even after all of that, he still won’t know how he feels.

So, yes, my dear friends, Baby Boy’s name might come down to the wire. 😛

Last but not least, we were fortunate to spend some time with two friends from my high school.

Stacey and Cameron also have a four-year-old son who I swear is the smartest and most polite kid I’ve ever had the pleasure of being around. He is also the world’s best hugger!

They’re in the process of building a new home and didn’t want to move all of the baby gear again.

So we bought a swing, bouncer and jumperoo! It’s perfect because I know the items came from a good, non-smoking home, and they are the same ones I had on my registry. Yay!

I know we are bound to still receive some of these items, but I look at it this way …

We have two sets of grandparents who haven’t had babies around in over 30 years. They’ll likely need these things as well for when Wee One visits. After he outgrows them, my parents can then decide whether to store them for future grandchildren or sell them.

But, anyway, back to the visit.

They also gave us a baby gift which was so sweet an unexpected! Inside were all of those essentials new moms (and babies) need – lotion and body wash, car seat toys, gas drops, infant Tylenol, diaper rash cream, and an elephant sleeper!

Their son picked out the sleeper and I excitedly told him it was the perfect choice because we were likely going with an elephant theme for the nursery.

I left their house feeling overwhelmed with joy and love. And that is a truly wonderful thing!

6 thoughts on “Dun, dun, dun …

  1. Yay. congrats on your literal bouncing boy! Mine is exactly the opposite- goes into a coma the minute the ultrasound wand touches my belly. Equally frustrating for the Doc trying to shoogle him awake and get all the measurements.

  2. Stacey Newcome says:

    It was so great seeing you! We are so happy for your and Randy. Austin wanted to know if you two were coming back soon to visit LOL… I am glad to see the baby gear go to a great home and can’t wait to see pictures of that sweet boy in them. I am glad you liked everything.

  3. Sounds like things are going so well!!! I have a little secret my dietitian/trainer gave me for my water retention that i’ll share since it might work for you too! Up your potassium!! It’s the natural counteract to sodium and should help with swollen feet/ankles/fingers and bloating! I drink a concoction of coconut water, unsweetened cranberry and unsweetened black cherry diluted with water and it’s helped me sooooo much!

  4. Christine says:

    Boys are so much fun!!

    Pro tip – always point it down in the diaper and be prepared to cover it up when you first open the diaper up (unless you enjoy being peed on!)

    So glad to see the little bitty one doing well. Keep posting updates!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

