Week 17: Belly band fail

After spending the better part of last Wednesday with my dress pants unbuttoned, I figured it was time to invest in one of those belly bands some many pregnant women and moms rave about.

Being a plus-size woman, I can’t simply waltz into Target and pick one out. Boo!

I made my way to the Ingrid and Isabel website and ordered two Bellabands – one nude, one black – and eagerly awaited their arrival. After obsessively stalking the FedEx site, I knew they would be waiting for me when I got home from work yesterday. 😀

Unfortunately, my excitement was short lived.

Putting it on was like shimmying into a Spanx … or a pair of pantyhose. Tug this side first; now, tug the other. Once I got the thing around my waist, I stared at myself in the mirror and thought, “What now?”

I pulled on my dress pants, left them unbuttoned and then tried to put the belly band in place.

Is this thing too small?

No, it’s comfy in the non-elastic parts – and if the elastic part isn’t snug it won’t hold the pants up.

Then why do I look like an Oompa Loompa?

Well, Lindsay, because your waist has always been bigger than your hips and legs … and you’re short-waisted. Your pants are looser in the legs so they fit in the waist. That hasn’t changed now that you’re pregnant.

Back to the drawing board. Maybe I’ll have better luck sewing an extra button on my pants and looping an elastic hair-tie around them. 😛

BTW, take the above words as the jest they are meant to be. I don’t feel bad about myself or the way I look. Right now (or maybe ever) a belly band just isn’t for me.

—–

Bodily functions alert! Skip if you want.

I’d like to apologize to anyone I’ve been around lately or will be around in the future.

Apparently this pregnant woman burps A LOT.

I do my best to be discreet, but most of the time they come out of nowhere.

And, really, even with your mouth closed people KNOW you burped.

I guess at least you can blame it on pregnancy. 😛

One of the neighborhoods in town has a HUGE spring yard sale every year. You want anything baby or kid related, this is the place to be.

A friend and I walked from house to house and I scored some AWESOME deals.

Two Halo Swaddle Sleep Sacks for $8? Heck yes!

The woman selling the items actually asked me if the price was okay. Are you kidding? These things look brand new. I will not complain about the price.

I also bought three gender neutral sleepers – two of which have zippers! Contrary to most households, those suckers are for my sanity as opposed to Hubby’s. He has WAY more patience when it comes to tedious things like snaps. Ha!

I brought home a few books and stacking rings. Yes, I know the stacking rings will just take up space for a while, but I love them so!

By far the non-deal of the day was a play mat. It’s supposed to have toys that dangle from the top, but this one does not. It’s my own fault for getting caught up in the “rush” and not checking before buying, but it’s a relatively easy fix. Buy some rings. Buy some toys. Voila!

I’ll probably send this one to my parent’s house and purchase one to stay at ours. I figure if I can eliminate even transporting one piece of “baby gear” it’ll be worth it. 😉

Here’s a picture of most of the loot:

yard sale

The countdown is officially on for the next ultrasound … 12 Days! Woohoo!!

2 thoughts on “Week 17: Belly band fail

  1. Christine says:

    Being a fluffy momma myself, I used whatever the one from Motherhood Maternity was… it worked beautifully. We have one here at the Hagerstown Outlets, which isn’t exactly a short drive for you, but if you come down I would LOVE to treat you to lunch and go shopping with you!!!! XOXOXO

Leave a Reply

