Week 14: Gifts Galore

While I was thinking about it, I wanted to take a few moments to write about all that has transpired the latter part of this week.

First, Wee One received some awesome gifts this week! My mom gave us a pack of Little Golden Books as an Easter present:

image

I think she’s going a little stir crazy because I won’t let her buy everything she sees. I did, however, say, “You can buy all the books you want!”

We will happily stock the nursery shelves with any and all children’s books. And now we have a head start. πŸ™‚

Then, a surprise package came in the mail from my friend Lisa. We worked together at Disney World years and years ago and it’s been wonderful to keep in touch with her through Facebook. Let me tell you, I smiled like a fool and giggled like a school girl when I opened the envelope:

image

It’s no big secret that I’m a HUGE fan of ABC’s Castle. To see this Writer onesie in my hands made me so happy!! Boy or girl, Wee One will be sporting this as much as possible – especially on Monday evenings.

image

Then there is this adorable onesie! Lisa LOVES the movie Finding Nemo as well as Dory. The quote is an adaptation of this one from the movie – “I shall call him Squishy and he shall be mine, and he shall be my Squishy.” Of course, Wee One will not be a jellyfish like Squishy – and won’t sting. But I’m sure it will spit up, poop and pee on me. πŸ˜›

On a more serious note, my 91-year-old grandma was hospitalized this weekend. My mom called late Friday afternoon and said they’d been told to come right away. Not knowing what was wrong, Hubby and I got in the car and took the two-hour drive to my hometown. I really tried to think positive, but I found my mind straying to those dreaded what ifs … What if she isn’t here to see her sixth great-grandchild come into the world? Although it’s a very real and possible scenario, it’s not something I’m willing to accept.

The doctors feel she’ll be able to go home in a few days, but this was certainly a huge wake up call. It put things into perspective.

Like, for example, those premature feelings of disappointment I wrote about earlier this week.

I found that there was no in between with reactions to that post. It was either, “How could you say that?” or “I had those feelings as well.”

Those who had that strong negative reaction clearly didn’t read my words carefully. I used adjectives like “silly” and “flawed” to describe my thoughts and feelings. It was my way of saying, “Hey! I’m human. This is where I am right now, but I know I can’t and won’t stay here.”

And while I still think it’s perfectly normal to desire one sex over the other – and to have feelings of disappointment if it doesn’t turn out the way you want – at the end of the day … it doesn’t matter.

Life is too short to dwell on things we can’t control.

Life is too short to not be happy and grateful for what we have.

Life is too short not to truly live in the moment.

Those are my words of “wisdom” for this week. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

