Hump Day!

Happy Hump Day! I’m very much looking forward to the weekend. I really crave some alone time that doubles as down time. 🙂 Here’s hoping all of you are having a great week! Onto the important stuff …

Over the last eight months I’ve really been drawn to news stories, opinion pieces or just general information about infertility. So, you can better believe I jumped all over the recent press release about a study published in Fertility and Sterility (Read it here).

Two passages jumped out at me:

In the survey of 1,000 women, results showed that only 50% have ever discussed their reproductive health with their medical provider, underscoring a need for increased dialogue between women and healthcare professionals. Furthermore, one-third of respondents admitted to visiting their reproductive health provider less than once a year or never.

And yet …

40% of women across all age groups expressed concern about their ability to conceive

Guys.

In a country where 1 in 10 couples is affected by infertility, these percentages are alarming.

I’m not sure where the disconnect is between women and doctors.

Is it because discussing sex and our reproductive systems is a societal taboo? From an early age we were taught that S-E-X was a bad word. Our vaginas were given cute nicknames. When our first period arrived we were likely given a box of tampons or pads and some brief instructions, but discussion of what was happening inside our bodies was kept to a minimum. I’ll be the first person to tell you I knew NOTHING about my reproductive system until I read Taking Charge of Your Fertility. Heck, even after 17 months (sad that I know that, huh?) of TTC I’m still learning!

Is it because women who aren’t preparing for or actively TTC don’t believe it’s necessary to discuss their reproductive health beyond the annual pelvic exam?

As for healthcare providers, are they not fostering a safe and secure environment that enables women to speak freely? Or is part of the problem that many are bound to the “You have to try for a year…” rule before there is a discussion?

I don’t know the answer (or answers), but hopefully this and subsequent studies will spur a movement. I’m just one blogger with minimal site traffic, but I encourage all women to be their own advocates. No one can do it for you. For the mothers of daughters out there, please talk openly (age appropriate, of course) with your girls about their bodies. Instill in them the confidence that seems to be lacking in older generations.

And because I write far too many posts without including pictures, here is a great infertility graphic:

fertility-by-the-numbers_5183a8546a774

 (Infographiclist.com)

Now that the serious stuff is out of the way, how about some funnies? The majority of these definitely made me LOL … probably because I’ve found myself thinking these exact same things at times.

bitch

re2

sperm3

perfect

sperm2

sperm

re

hangy

3 thoughts on “Hump Day!

Leave a Reply

