Aside

Something’s Missing

I have a thing for underdogs – especially on reality TV and in college sports.

  • I voted for Clay Aiken during Season 2 of American Idol.
    • (Here’s just ONE of the reasons why)
  • The 2006 Boise State football team was my darling.
  • I was devastated when Jason Mesnick dumped Melissa Rycroft on The Bachelor.
  • I cheer for the WVU Mountaineers (this year says it all).

My latest was Vocal Rush on The Sing-Off: Season 4. When a high school a capella group can slay Delta Rae’s Bottom of the River on national television … well, I’ll be your fan. I knew they weren’t going to win (the judges definitely favor professionals), but that didn’t stop me from downloading their songs and tuning in to see how long they stuck around.

I’m a Spotify junkie and was so excited yesterday to find the group’s EP and Sing-Off tracks on there.
The first song I listened to was a cover of Brandy’s A Capella (Something’s Missing) and then I listened again.
I’ve never found a song that reflects this TTC, infertility, Idon’tevenknowwhattocallitanymore journey until now.
I have a feeling more than one of you will be able to relate. Check out the lyrics below, but make sure to listen as well.

I’m feelin’ such a vacancy, I don’t feel whole (oh, oh)
Wish I can put my finger on it but I don’t know what it is
Looked in every place I could see
Try’na to find the missing part of me
I can’t explain this feeling (feeling)

Feels like I’m on a long journey going in circles
And I ain’t even goin’ nowhere
I’m lost in the middle of nowhere
Something is missing
Can somebody help me?
Something is missing
I’m missing a part of me
Something is missing
Show me what it is
Show me what’s missing
Missing

I’m in a dark room in a bad position
I’m lookin’ for the light to restore my vision (vision)
Guess I’m walkin’ blind, I keep falling down, I can’t find my way
I can’t explain this feeling

Feels like I’m on a long journey going in circles
And I ain’t even goin’ nowhere
I’m lost in the middle of nowhere
Something is missing
Can somebody help me?
Something is missing
I’m missing a part of me
Something is missing
Show me what it is
Show me what’s missing
Missing

Feels like I’m leaving something behind
Can’t think straight, something’s on my mind
Can’t pretend to ’cause I’m all so broke
Can’t find the words ’cause they’ve all been spoke
The answer’s gonna be right in my face, oh oh
What I’m gonna do to fill this empty space, oh oh oh

2 thoughts on “Something’s Missing

  1. Maggie says:

    I just found your blog and saw you cheer for the Mountaineers!! Me too!

    I don’t have a blog for now. We were just diagnosed with unexplained infertility in November and very quickly learned IVF is our only option. I haven’t spent much time on your story yet because I got so excited to see a fellow Mountaineer fan here that I had to comment!

    • Lindsay says:

      Hey Maggie!! Welcome to the blog, my fellow Mountaineer! Do you live in West Virginia?

      I’m sorry to hear about the unexplained infertility diagnosis, but I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed the IVF sticks (assuming that’s the route you choose to go). Sending lots of baby dust your way!

Leave a Reply

