A weight solution?

Could my struggle to lose weight really be as “simple” as a hormonal imbalance?

After being on the progesterone supplements for a week now, I’m beginning to wonder.

As you may recall, I lamented last week about how I’d only lost one pound in the last three months despite regular exercise and healthier diet. My goal for the Thanksgiving holiday was to maintain my current weight.

Well, I actually lost 2.5 pounds … and I’m on track to lose another two this week.

I haven’t changed anything … except adding the hormone supplement. That, of course, got me thinking and Googling. Here is the laundry list of symptoms for low progesterone:

  • a luteal phase less than 12 days
  • sugar cravings
  • ovarian cysts
  • low basal body temperatures
  • irregular periods
  • allergy symptoms
  • arthritis
  • spotting in the days before your period begins
  • recurrent early miscarriage
  • blood clots during menstruation
  • cold hands and feet
  • brittle nails
  • cracked heels
  • decreased sex drive
  • menstrual cramps
  • depression or anxiety
  • acne
  • fatigue
  • fibrocystic breasts
  • PCOS
  • endometriosis
  • fibromyalgia
  • gallbladder issues
  • Foggy thinking
  • headaches and migraines
  • infertility
  • vaginal dryness
  • slow metabolism
  • mood swings
  • weight gain, especially around the middle

Let’s talk about the items in bold first. They are the symptoms I’ve had for as long as I can remember. Do you know how many times over the years my gynecologist told me, “Your breast tissue is fibrocystic. Do you drink a lot of caffeine?” Even though I always said no, she never offered another explanation. I’ve struggled with ovarian cysts, allergies, brittle nails and cracked heels for years. And let’s not even talk about anxiety.

My hands and feet are ALWAYS cold. I’m lucky if my body temperature hits 98 degrees in the evening and my BBT hovers right around 97.2, dipping as low as 96.9 at the beginning of a cycle. 

I carry the majority of my weight in my abdomen – and it’s always the last place for it to leave.

The items in italics are things that I’ve experienced in the past for extended periods of time. However, I didn’t want to discount them. Some of them (foggy thinking and slow metabolism) I may still have.

So what does all of this mean?

Nothing … yet.

It just gives me more than one good reason to ask Dr. GL to test my hormones.

Oh, and BTW, this is the LONGEST 2WW EVAH! With the HCG trigger, it was essentially a perfectly timed month and that always makes the wait more difficult. To add to that, I don’t even have a clear test date because I don’t know how the progesterone will affect my LP.

GUH!

Leave a Reply

