Rain and rainbows

I know you’ve been on pins and needles waiting to read an update on The Great Period Watch!

Well, I’m here to put you out of your misery. Hee!

It’s finally here. Seven days late (maybe).

On Wednesday, I finally reached out to my doctor to ask if the LH surge test could have been a false positive. His response was that the tests are extremely accurate, but it was possible. He also said to give it until Friday and if I didn’t get a period to take another home pregnancy test.

I grabbed onto that thread of positive possibility and held on for dear life. I felt lighter than I had in over a week. My disposition immediately perked up. I felt like myself again.

It was glorious.

And, honestly, I think that’s why my period finally arrived. I was no longer stressing about it. That evening all of the signs began to appear. By late tonight it was onto a new cycle.

The mind is a powerful thing and we can’t discount it’s effectiveness in tricking our bodies!

But, you know what, I’m perfectly fine with the outcome. You know how some women can tell they’re pregnant before actually getting a positive test result? Well, count me as one who knew she wasn’t.

Yes, I let go and allowed myself that wonderful feeling of hope; however, deep down I knew. I knew taking another test wasn’t going to produced a different result.

But it wasn’t all for naught.

I lost myself after the first negative test, but found my way back with that bit of hope from my doctor.

I’m going to hold those feelings throughout this next cycle and any subsequent ones. Doing so is bound to create a better mental environment for getting pregnant.

Right now, though, I’m just thankful to move on. 🙂

Although I’m not really a religious person, the old saying “When God closes a door he opens a window” went through my mind today. You see, not only am I not pregnant but we also found out we’re back to looking for a house again.

How’s that for a double whammy to end the week?

But, then I got a phone call I’d been waiting for. Although I can’t really talk about it just yet, trust me. It’s a very good thing.

I also received a lovely thank you note and gift card to Panera Bread from someone I’ve been voluntarly helping at some events over the last two years.

And, finally, my wonderful friend Alicia surprised me with a FitBit as a thank you for organizing her baby shower. She even conspired with my mom to order it… those sneaky people. 😉

I guess my point in all of this is that how can we dwell on what didn’t work when so many other things did? If this were over a year ago, I probably wouldn’t have realized these good things were happening around me because I would have been too preoccupied by the negative.

Awww … I’m a grown up now. Yay!

xoxoxo

4 thoughts on “Rain and rainbows

    • Lindsay says:

      Aww! Thanks! You guys are fortunate though. You get my ramblings AFTER I’ve had time to process things. Trust me. I have my moments of negative, why me feelings. As for the FitBit, it’s this nifty little device that tracks your steps, the miles you’ve walked, monitors your sleep, tracks your active minutes and such. Here’s a link to the website if you want to check it out: http://www.fitbit.com/

Leave a Reply

