The Big O

Well, the Clomid certainly worked.

I went to the doctor this morning for an ultrasound to determine follicle growth and I have two that could produce an egg.

One is 20 mm and the other is 16 mm. I also have four smaller ones that shouldn’t amount to much.

All on one ovary.

That just seems crazy to me.

Here’s the kicker though: According to Dr. Crabby Pants, who is not my regular doctor, I’m going to ovulate TODAY. That’s right. Just three days after taking my last Clomid pill. All of the research I did indicated to expect ovulation 5-9 days after the last pill.

And here I thought I was being so smart by planning all of these times within those 5-9 days to spend quality time with my husband. You know, because I wanted us to have the best possible chance with the new medication.

Now, by all indications, we literally have one shot (hee!).

It almost feels like my body is giving me the middle finger while laughing hysterically. 😉

I’m kidding, of course, but I am thoroughly confused.

The last two cycles have been 28 and 27 days, respectively. If I do ovulate today, though, I’ll likely have a 23 or 24 day cycle.

None of this seems right to me – and I’m going to have lots of questions for Dr. Good Looks, my regular RE, after we see how this cycle pans out.

In the mean time, I’m going to focus on the new addition to the ultrasound room:

image

Good luck charm, maybe? 😉

5 thoughts on “The Big O

  1. Awesome response! My cycles are always much shorter when medicated as well! I’m not sure if I love the new addition to your ultrasound room or despise it. I guess its good to have something to focus on!

  2. Woah! Go clomid!! 2 follies – that’s perfect. Clomid makes me ovulate earlier than normal but only 2 or 3 days before I normally do unmediated (when I actually I on my own – very rare). Good that your body responded so well. Fingers crossed this is your BFP

Leave a Reply

