The tube is …

Howdy, folks! I’m so sorry for the lack of blogging, but here I am.  🙂

During the last month or so I’ve really tried to lessen my anxiety and rid my mind of any negative, what-if feelings concerning fertility and, really, my life in general.

A wise woman recently told me it was time to stop focusing on the clinical aspects and start believing in the magic again.

So that’s what I’ve been doing.

I do, however, need to take a step back into “clinical” for a moment.

Today was the day. The day we would find out once and for all if my lone fallopian tube is open.

We arrived at the hospital shortly before 12:30 p.m. and only had a brief wait before being taken back for the HSG test.

After changing into a gown, I hopped onto this cold slab and waited for the doctor. Once he got started, I realized the preparations were a lot like having a pelvic exam. Although he told me everything he was doing, please don’t ask me to repeat it. It wasn’t exactly the kind of knowledge I wanted to retain. 😛 If you’re curious about the steps involved, read about them here.

The test itself only lasts 60 seconds, but I wasn’t fully prepared for the sensations it brought. It felt like my abdomen and nether regions were on fire, accompanied by the strongest cramps I’ve ever had. When the first wave passed through, my eyes slammed shut as I took a deep breath and counted through the discomfort.

Just as I started to repeat the pattern, I heard my RE say, “Oh, it’s open. I can’t tell how functional it is, but it’s definitely open.”

While my mouth said, “Great,” my brain said, “Okay, can you turn this shit off now?” Ha!

Seriously, though, the test wasn’t that bad. I could live through it again, but that doesn’t mean I want to. 😉

Afterward, the RE asked if my cycles were regular which, most of the time, they are. I was three days late last cycle, but I don’t know if that was my body still trying to regulate itself after surgery or what.

He also mentioned that he opened the tube during the laparoscopy, but I don’t remember him telling me that initially. I thought that was the point of this test?? o_O Apparently he wanted to make sure it was STILL open? No matter. For the next cycle he wants to try a round of Clomid to help move things along because there is a potential for the tube to close again.

Thoroughly confused? Yeah, me too.

But, the point is my tube is open. Am I at risk for an ectopic pregnancy? Yes. But, the tube is open, people. Say it with me!

“The tube is open!”

And that’s GREAT news.

He also didn’t say we couldn’t try this cycle. So that’s what we’ll be doing. TMI. Sorry … not sorry.

Keep sending that baby dust our way!

4 thoughts on “The tube is …

Leave a Reply

