A non-traditional mom

Happy Belated Mother’s Day!

I kept a low profile yesterday after sending best wishes to several mommy friends and talking briefly with my own mom.

It was unexpectedly difficult for me, although I don’t really know why. The only thing I could pinpoint was a conversation that happened last Mother’s Day.

I ran into a friend at church after attending my newest cousin’s baptism. I snuggled her kids as we chatted and she told me she (and her mom) thought next year would be my first Mother’s Day.

My first thought after waking yesterday was about the need to call my mom. The next was of last year’s celebration which, of course, triggered the memory of the above conversation.

This overwhelming sadness washed over me.

I let myself have the moment (because everyone needs them!), but before I could let the “what if” scenarios consume my thoughts I heard Randy come home from work. In a matter of moments I was being trampled by two chinchillas and Randy handed me a card:

image

Isn’t that the cutest thing?

I laughed, smiled and cried. I couldn’t believe he’d even think to do something like that. As bummed as I was to not be celebrating in the traditional sense,  it was nice to be reminded that I am a mom … just to four furry critters with lots of whiskers. It was enough for now. 🙂

I’m in a bit of a pickle, though. How in the world do I top this when Father’s Day rolls around? Suggestions?

Leave a Reply

